The University of Otago (Māori: Te Whare Wānanga o Otāgo) is a collegiate university located in Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand. It scores highly for average research quality, and in 2006 was second in New Zealand only to the University of Auckland in the number of A-rated academic researchers it employs. The university ranks highly in New Zealand’s national league table; in the past it has topped the New Zealand Performance Based Research Fund evaluation.

The university was created by a committee led by Thomas Burns, and officially established by an ordinance of the Otago Provincial Council in 1869. The university accepted its first students in July 1871, making it the oldest universityin New Zealand and third-oldest in Oceania. Between 1874 and 1961 the University of Otago was a part of the federal University of New Zealand, and issued degrees in its name.

Master of Arts (MA)
Master of Fine Arts (MFA)
Master of Indigenous Studies (MIndS)
Master of International Studies (MIntSt)
Master of Music (MMus)
Master of Peace and Conflict Studies (MPCS)
Master of Planning (MPlan)
Master of Politics (MPols)
Master of Social and Community Work (Applied) (MSCW(Applied))
Master of Social Work (MSW)
Master of Business (MBus)
Master of Business Administration (MBA)
Master of Business Data Science (MBusDataSc)
Master of Commerce (MCom)
Master of Economics (MEcon)
Master of Entrepreneurship (MEntr)
Master of Finance (MFinc)
Master of International Business (MIntBus)
Master of Marketing (MMart)
Master of Māori and Indigenous Business (MMAIBus)
Master of Professional Accounting (MProfAcct)
Master of Sustainable Business (MSusBus)
Master of Tourism (MTour)
Master of Community Dentistry (MComDent)
Master of Dental Surgery (MDS)
Master of Dental Technology (MDentTech)
Master of Dentistry (MDent)
Master of Oral Health (MOH)
Master of Education (MEd)
Master of Teaching (MTchg)
Master of Teaching and Learning (MTchgLn)
Master of Bioethics and Health Law (MBHL)
Master of Health Sciences (MHealSc)
Master of Medical Imaging (MMI)
Master of Medical Laboratory Science (MMLSc)
Master of Nursing Science (MNSc)
Master of Emerging Technologies Law (METL)
Master of Laws (LLM)
Master of Aviation Medicine (MAvMed)
Master of General Practice (MGP)
Master of Medical Science (MMedSc)
Master of Occupational Medicine (MOccMed)
Master of Ophthalmology (MOphth)
Master of Primary Health Care (MPHC)
Master of Public Health (MPH)
Master of Travel Medicine (MTravMed)
Master of Clinical Pharmacy (MClinPharm)
Master of Pharmacy (MPharm)
Master of Dance Studies (MDanceSt)
Master of Physical Education (MPhEd)
Master of Physiotherapy (MPhty)
Master of Applied Science (MAppSc)
Master of Dietetics (MDiet)
Master of Science (MSc)
Master of Science Communication (MSciComm)
Master of Wildlife Management (MWLM)
Master of Surveying (MSurv)
Master of Higher Education (MHEd)
Master of Chaplaincy (MChap)
Master of Ministry (MMin)
Master of Theology (MTheol)


GPA / Percentage: 3.0 / 75% +







Overall Score : 64
Min Reading   : 57
Min Writing    : 57
Min Speaking  : 57
Min Listening  : 57




Overall Score : 90
Min Reading   : N / A
Min Writing    : 22
Min Speaking  : N / A
Min Listening  : N / A




Overall Score : 6.5
Min Reading   : 6.0
Min Writing    : 6.0
Min Speaking  : 6.0
Min Listening  : 6.0



Fall intake / Aug – Sep:

Under Graduate                                      N /A
Master’s                                                      N / A
Ph.D                                                               N /A



Spring intake / Jan – Feb:

Under Graduate                                      N /A
Master’s                                                      N / A
Ph.D                                                               N /A



Summer intake / June – July:

Under Graduate                                      N /A
Master’s                                                      N / A
Ph.D                                                               N /A



Under Graduate: (NZD) $9,033 per year



Master’s : (NZD) $9,033 per year



Ph.D : (NZD) $9,033 per year