Education System in Cyprus

Cyprus Education System

In North Cyprus currently over 63,000 students studying at 12 Universities of which 10 are local and 2 are branches of Middle East Technical University in Ankara and Istanbul Technical University in Istanbul. 21% of our students are overseas students from more than 131 different countries, 58% are from Turkey and 21% are local Turkish Cypriot students. Overseas student number, which was about 2,500 in 2009-2010 academic year, increased by more than 4 times to reach 11,250 in the current academic year.

Structure of Cyprus Higher Education System:

cyprus education system

Grading System in Cyprus:

cyprus education system

Types of Higher Education Institutions:
Public Universities:

Public universities are founded as public corporate bodies to be academically autonomous governed by their Council and Senate. They are funded by the government, but they can raise money from other sources as well. All the three public universities in Cyprus are dedicated to excellence of teaching and research. The specific objectives and mission of each university are stated in its respective founding Law.

Private Universities:

Private universities are founded as private law organizations of speculative or non-speculative character, registered with the Ministry of Education. As provided by Law 109(I)/2005 on Private Universities, the mission of each private university is the advancement of science, knowledge, learning and education through teaching and research for the benefit of society as a whole; the cultivation, transmission, implementation and exchange of knowledge through science; and, the provision of graduate and/or postgraduate education of a high standard that accepts international recognition. Private universities raise their funds from tuition fees. 

Non-University Level Public Institutions:

Non-university level public institutions operate under other than the Ministry of Education and Culture ministries. Each ministry is wholly responsible for the organization and regulation of the institution(s) under its remit, thus setting regulations for the type and level of courses, admission requirements, curricula and student enrolment, in collaboration with the Board of Management, Director and Faculty of the institution.

Non-University Level Private Institutions:

Non-university level private institutions of higher education are registered with the Ministry of Education and Culture, according to Laws 67(I)/1996-1(I)/2010, which provide for their establishment, operation and control. Each institution sets its own aims and internal regulations with the approval of the Ministry. They offer vocational and academic programmes at various levels of study, such as the Certificate level (one-year duration), the Diploma level (two-year duration), the Higher Diploma level (three-year duration), the Bachelor level (four-year duration) and the Master level (one-year or two-year duration). Fields of study cover Secretarial Studies, Business Administration, Banking, Accountancy, Hotel Management, Computers and Engineering.

Types of Degrees:
Associate Degree: 

An Associate degree (based on the US system) is granted after successful completion of two years of full-time university study. Associate degrees are generally practical in nature, and students who graduate with an appropriate grade point average may transfer onto a relevant four-year Bachelor degree course.

Bachelor’s Degree: 

Bachelor degrees are eight semesters (four years) in length. In general, the programme consists of taught courses, laboratory and tutorial work where appropriate and a graduation project depending on the subject area. Students normally require a cumulative credit-hour total of 120 and a cumulative grade point average of at least 2.00 in order to graduate.

Master’s Degree: 

Master’s degrees are usually three to four semesters in duration and require completion of 21 credit hours (seven graduate courses) and a thesis, which must be defended in an oral examination. Students must attain a minimum CGPA of 3.00 for graduation. Master’s degrees without the thesis element are also offered and involve the completion of 10 graduate courses, a total of 30 credit hours, and submission of a project. For all programme types, students are admitted on the basis of a Bachelor degree (normally with a CGPA of 2.5) or equivalent.

Master of Business Administration (MBA): 

The Master of Business Administration involves the equivalent of 14 three-credit courses (a total of 42 credits), which includes an optional six-credit thesis. The degree is usually completed in three semesters and builds upon undergraduate degrees involving a major in business administration. Previous professional experience is considered to be an advantage.

PhD / Doctorate Degree: 

PhD degrees require the completion of 21 credits with a GPA of at least 3.5 and submission and defense of a thesis. A candidate must also have a publication related to his/her research topic published in an international journal (specifically in Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index or Arts and Humanities Citation Index) before attending the oral examination. Admission is based upon the Master’s degree, usually with a CGPA of 3.00, or equivalent, with other requirements depending on the department.

how can we help you?

Contact us at the Consulting WP office nearest to you or submit a business inquiry online.

I-Studentz helped me a lot in studying my masters in the USA and cracking my VISA interview. They had given many mock sessions for my VISA interview. I Suggest my friends and students to consult in this consultant. Thank you very much I-Studentz especially Sarita madam.

USA Student Visa | F1 Visa Approval
USA, University of Illinois Springfield